The Department of Service to Palestinian Refugees “DSPR” of the Middle East Council of Churches “MECC” started in 1948 as an ad-hoc ecumenical group with both international and local spirited clergy and lay people to tend to the trauma of Palestinian refugees.


DSPR eventually evolved into five Area Committees one each in Jerusalem and West Bank; Jordan; Lebanon; Galilee and the Gaza Strip. Work is  coordinated through a Central Office in East Jerusalem.

DSPR became part of the MECC (Middle East Council of Churches) when it was established in 1974.